Unexpected G28 behaviour

What is the problem?
Previously I had a “pause” script that simply homed the X and Y axes without moving Z at all.
However when I just tried to use it it moved the z by my “min clearance” and then when it resumed printing obviously printed 4mm high.
What did you already try to solve it?
I looked through the Gcode documentation to make sure I had the right code and I do. Here it is:

G28 X Y; Home X and Y
M84; Disable motors

Additional information about your setup
Firmware: Marlin

I'm still a newbie but correct me if I'm wrong (still learning) but, shouldn't that be:
G1 X0 Y0; xy goto home

Seen this and wanted to follow since I'm still learning.

No, and for a few reasons, but one major one.
My printer, and many others, do not home at 0. Sending it there would move it to the centre of the bed.
So yes, I could modify the code to send it to the same coordinates as home, but I haven’t had to do that previously and I am more concerned about the change in behaviour than I am about how to get around the issue!
Another issue is the repeatability. I like to have it hit the endstops and register it as homed and “zeroed” and then on restarting I home it again. This means that any skips or issues that may (but never have) occur on the long travels are accounted for and any jostling of the head while swapping the filament is accounted for.

I’m glad you’re willing to learn, that’s an excellent mindset to have and I hope this helped :slight_smile:

Ahhh. Thanks for the education. I was under the assumption that i.e. G1 X0 Y0 wasn't sending the axis home but to a specified coordinate. I appreciate you respecting my "Newbism" :wink: and not shunning me.

Hope you get the problem fixed....following.

One question along: Why do you disable the motors during the pause? There is a great risk to change their positions and the further on print fails...
Maybe you should give us more of your pause script

1. This is completely irrelevant.