Thank you for Octoprint!

Hi,

my name is Jan, I am new to 3D-Printing and just got my 1st printer a few weeks back. I have chosen to get a Original Prusa I3 Mk3 kit. Before the purchase I have been watching a LOT of Tom's, 3D Nerd and Maker's Muse content on YouTube. That was MOST helpful to not fall into the trap of getting a cheap CN printer to start with as a beginner. The frustration would likely have caused me to quit before getting anywhere. As a 2nd printer I would definitely go for a "project" type purchase.

One of the very 1st things I did, even before seriously adjusting the 1st layer etc was to get Octoprint installed. Super easy to implement with the Prusa printer and everything worked just straight away ! Thank you for that.

About myself..... I live in West-Cork, on the Sheep's Head peninsula in Ireland. Great place to live, my chosen home by now. Job and hobby is IT, I am Network and Systems engineer for an ISP. Application engineering and programming are not my thing, shell scripts and Unix/Linux CLI are my friends and get me most places. Apart from IT, some simple electronics (Arduino stuff etc.) I enjoy sailing, EVE Online and hanging out with friends and Pints :wink:

Anyway, just wanted to say thanks and say hello to all.

Have FuN!
Jan P.

7 Likes

Hey Jan! Thanks for helping out on the forums.

You'll soon start to see the world in a completely different way. When sailing, you'll eye something that needs a new part designed and you'll actually bring a digital caliper onboard so that you can make some measurements. ha

You can take advantage of that, though. A printed part might cost you $0.20 worth of filament or something ridiculous as compared to what a marine-grade plastic mount of some kind might go for. There might be some money in designing and selling parts for boats.