SD Card Corrupted (I think) after attempt to find octopi login info

Hey there! I'm still a bit of a rookie at this stuff.
Since August I had been using a successful OctoPrint setup for my Prusa MK3. It was still working today, but I got a bit greedy.
A long time ago I bought a 7" display for my Raspberry Pi 2 B and never used it until December 2018, expecting to get a cool UI or something I could view from it. However, the glass layer on top had shifted after storage for a year and a half, so I couldn't see the last line of code on the startup screen. I made a thread on this earlier but with some help I answered my own question.
So, one day I was looking at the display from a weird angle and caught a glimpse of the last line. It said:
"octopi login:"
I tried the oldest trick in the book (pi, raspberry) and my OctoPrint username/password and nothing worked. By the way, regular OctoPrint still worked perfectly fine on my browser at this point. looked at other relevant threads on these forums and didn't really understand what I was supposed to do. I tried editing the cmdline file, and the wpa-supplicant file. Nothing changed. When I followed some instructions for putting the pi into "single user mode" (http://mapledyne.com/ideas/2015/8/4/reset-lost-admin-password-for-raspberry-pi) the boot-up never even finished (didn't even get to the long stream of [ OK ] messages, it got hung up on recognizing the things plugged into the USB ports). I tried to remove the bit that that link above directed me to put in the cmdline file (I changed nothing else) and now I think I definitely messed up. Maybe it had to do with the "format disc" thing that Windows asked me to do before viewing the files on it? When I put it in the boot-up stream diverted from its usual [ OK ] messages. The last line was:
1.592775] --- end Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(172)