Pause, Cancel, and Status not available

What is the problem?
When connected, i get no info, and no ability to pause or cancel a print from the SD card, started from the printer (not from within octoprint)

What did you already try to solve it?
nothing

Additional information about your setup (OctoPrint version, OctoPi version, printer, firmware, octoprint.log, serial.log or output on terminal tab, ...)

i very rarely use octoprint to start prints. granted im new to this, but im quite sure i remember seeing time remaining, and the pause/cancel buttons available on prints previously. im not sure exactly when this started, but i did just recently do the update to 1.3.9. Is this normal and i just never noticed before? Do the time estimates, and pause/cancel functions only work when a job is started from within octoprint?

Nobody will be able to help you with this unless you start sharing some logs, screenshots and more information about your setup.

what additional info would you like? im using 1.3.9 on Ocotopo 0.15.1. Prusa I3 Mk3. FIrmware 3.3.0. There are no logs to share for jobs that were not started thru octoprint. I can show you a screenshot of greyed out buttons if you like...

and here is a log for a print i DID start thru octo....

Does that help at all?

when you print from the SD card you cannot pause etc from the octoprint menu. You have to use the buttons on the printers display. It's always been that way because octoprint isn't sending the data over, so it has no control over it. it's in the readme files about octoprint and has been since forever

1 Like

ok, well that answers that. i didnt read the readme... or at least, i just read what i needed to get it working. when i connect to the printer and see the terminal displaying all the gcode, i think its a pretty logical though to think that i should be able to stop the print.