Kernel Panic while booting Octopi 0.15.1 on Raspberry Pi3 B

Hello All this is my first post, I've searched for a similar issue but the search bar didn't gave me any similar case, if there is already one.. then I make my apologies in advance. :slight_smile:

What is the problem?
I've purchased a Raspberry Pi 3 B because I want to start using Octoprint, but when I plug to power I receive the following message:
"Kernel panic-not syncing: VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(179,2)"
I don't know how to fix this, it's my first time using a raspberry platform.

What did you already try to solve it?
Purchased an original Raspberry Power supply to see if the issue was due to under powering the board.
Formatted the MicroSD several times and downloaded Octopi 0.15.1 each time.
Purchased a new 16GB MicroSD.

Always the same message at the end of the screen:
"Kernel panic-not syncing: VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(179,2)"

Additional information about your setup
Raspberry Pi 3 Model B
Octopi 0.15.1
1x MicroSD 8GB
1x MicroSD 16GB

Can some one help me?
where can I find previous versions of Octoprint?

thank you in advance.

How are you putting Octopi on the SD card? What operating system are you using?

I'm using etcher on Windows 10.
but I've tried also with Win 32 disk imager.

okay, Etcher is what I would've recommended. It looks like this is common, for unknown reasons, and is solvable if you carefully step through this. Note your problem ends in 2, which is the second section.

1 Like

IOk, I've re flashed the SD, mounted the image on it, tried to follow the instruction on the link you gave me but I don't know what am I doing wrong, I start the Pi with the shift key pressed but still nothing, I can't get through the boot screen, I'm using a Trust 20964 as keyboard. is there anything else I can try?

I've opened the cmdline.txt file wityh notepad++ and this is what I have: