Environment setup and plug in source location

Hello,

I am new here. I just installed what was recommended for development (Python, Git, PyCharm, etc). I'm on windows and it all went as described on the instructions except for one line :

source ./venv/Scripts/activate

'source' did not seem to be a recognized command. Not sure the implication, as the rest of the setup seemed to proceed. Other hiccup is that during the Pycharm install, it seems to have created a second venv folder called 'venv1'. Again not sure the impact. I used the first one during the setup the configurations .

Anyway, my question is not so much about that. My intention is to work on a plugin, I am not really a programmer so I will have to learn everything as I go. Please bear with me. I have added a couple plugins to the install, one of which I am intending to adapt to my purposes (thanks ntoff!), however, the plug in code does not show up in the octoprint folders. It seems to have landed in C:\Python27\Lib\site-packages\ Is this normal? Seem not.

Thanks,

Dave

source ./venv/Scripts/activate is a *nix shell command. I'm not very familiar with the Windows setup but I found this and it seems like you should have a bat to run.

Yep plugins will be installed as a python package via pip.

Quick update, the windows setup guide was moved into this very forum:

https://discourse.octoprint.org/t/setting-up-octoprint-on-windows/383

The development guide however explicitly says to use Git Bash instead of the regular windows command line, in which case source ./venv/Scripts/activate actually does what it should:

Open the Git Bash you just installed and in that:

pip install virtualenv
cd /c/Devel
git clone https://github.com/foosel/OctoPrint.git
cd OctoPrint
virtualenv venv
source ./venv/Scripts/activate
pip install --upgrade pip
pip install -e .[develop,plugins]
2 Likes